back to
Hell Yeah Recordings
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Summer of Endless Levitation

by M'lumbo

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    12" Vinyl Edition - shrinkwrapped
    a1 There Are No Words
    a2 Shoreline
    a3 The Afternoon Levitation
    a4 Swoon
    b1 Open The Heavens
    b2 Quanta
    b3 Planetfall
    b4 The Great Clock

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Summer of Endless Levitation via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      €18 EUR or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €10 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    All 10 tracks, in a glossy 4-panel eco-wallet with great album art. Electronic/acoustic, cinematic, Balearic ambient journeys.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Summer of Endless Levitation via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    edition of 50 

      $12 USD or more 


Shoreline 05:06
Swoon 04:57
Quanta 05:37


Legendary New York band M'Lumbo distill experiences from their pre-pandemic Shamanic travels into their stunning new album The Summer Of Endless Levitation. The 10-track digital album and eight-track vinyl LP is an avant-garde take on folk music informed by painter and sculptor Jean Hans Arp's 'biomorphic' works and it serves as a sonic renewal of self.

The cult M'Lumbo collective has been a legendary and groundbreaking act since first forming in the mid-80s. They cross genre boundaries as they draw on jazz, world, electronic, rock and experimental music that escapes the commercial world and take you into another realm entirely. There is no limit to their sound; each member brings their own cultural background to the mix, making the band all the more unique.

As the Coronavirus pandemic struck, three members of the band Rob Ray Flatow, Paul-Alexandre Meurens and Brian O'Neill undertook a regimen of Shamanic Traveling in New York City. The experiences led them to quickly and spontaneously compose and perform a suite of pieces. They were informed by a desire to create a kind of folk music inspired by their shared visions of Jean Hans Arp's 'biomorphic' works, which are shapes that evoke natural lifeforms without referencing them, but also by the feelings of isolation and indefinite exile yet to come in their urban environment.

Compared to the works they have done as part of the larger M'lumbo band, this album is a more modest and naive affair that is "a vehicle for the renewal of feeling using only a few instruments - acoustic and electric guitar, keyboard, flute, small percussion, kalimba and clarinet - and locating a sense of both the deep sadness and uplifting powers of reverie."

'There Are No Words' kicks off with heavenly chords and organic percussion that recalls the jungle jazz of Don Cherry, then 'Shoreline' is a five-minute dub with percolating rhythms and new age melodies before the soul-soothing acoustic guitar of 'The Afternoon Levitation' blisses you out on a sunny day. The perfectly entitled 'Swoon' is another gloriously uplifting piece of musical spirituality that fuses the electronic and synthetic with the ancient and ritualistic. There is more jungle jazz, big-band horn work and cosmic synth modulations of 'Open the Heavens' while 'Quanta' is a shuffling, jumbled mix of radiant chords, wigged-out electronic lines and celestial charm. 'Planetfall' goes from free-form jazz to double-time techno and back to cathartic ambient. The final trio of tracks conjures up everything from the transcendental jazz of Alice Coltrane to the cinematic downtempo of Calm.

The Summer Of Endless Levitation is otherworldly music for enriching the mind, body and spirit. As it evolves freely from bar to bar, it evokes and awakens feelings from deep inside your soul and leaves you in a state of nirvana.


released June 2, 2023

All songs written by R. Flatow (BMI)/B. O’Neill (BMI)/P. Meurens (ASCAP) and published by Music from Tompkins Farm (BMI)/Songs from Tompkins Farm (ASCAP)

Rob Ray Flatow: Synthesizer, Suitcase Symphonetta, Elecetronic + Acoustic Percussion, Electric and Acoustic Guitar, Ectoplasmic Radio, Production and Vocals

Paul Alexandre Meurens: Flute, Synthesizer, Acoustic Guitar, Electronic and Acoustic Percussion, Engineering, Clarinet and Bass Clarinet

Brian O'Neill: Synthesizer, Acoustic Guitar, Ectoplasmic Radio, Acoustic Percussion, Dulcimer,  Engineering, Hawaiian Guitar, Vocals

Mastered with Love by Calm at Studio 9 O’Clock
Artwork by Matteo Pozzi


all rights reserved



M'lumbo New York, New York

M'Lumbo is a New York multimedia band that crosses the boundaries of Rock, Electronic, Psychedelic, Jazz, and World Music with over 14 recordings and recent collaborations with Jane Ira Bloom, Page Hamilton (Helmet), and Gary Lucas.
"It's Mickey Mouse, The Stanford University marching band, Santana and Syd Barrett rolled into one...borders on genius"- Baltimore City Paper
... more

contact / help

Contact M'lumbo

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

M'lumbo recommends:

If you like M'lumbo, you may also like: